Boygenius Surprise Drops 3 New Songs & Announces Highly Anticipated Debut Album



Lera Pentelute

After 5 years of desiring, really hoping as well as wishing new music from Boygenius— the indie rock supergroup consisted of Phoebe Bridgers, Lucy Dacus as well as Julien Baker— followers lastly have reason to celebrate. On Wednesday (Jan 18), the triad went down 3 shock brand-new tunes as well as, finally, introduced their future launching cd through Interscope, an extremely prepared for follow-up to their cherished 2018 self-titled EP.

None of the 3 artists provided followers any kind of kind of heads-up leading up to their return, neither had they provided any kind of tip that an unabridged cd remained in the jobs. (The just indicator that something was developing was a statement a week prior that they would certainly be carrying out with each other for the very first time in years at Coachella 2023.) Instead, Bridgers, Dacus as well as Baker just published Spotify web links to the brand-new songs– labelled “$20,” “Emily I’m Sorry” as well as “True Blue”– onInstagram Stories

News of Boygenius’ return was additionally run in a Rolling Stone short article, which exposed The Record‘s track listing as well as launch day: March 31. The short article additionally exposed that Bridgers had actually started a band get-together right after her 2020 student solo document, Punisher, was launched.

According to the magazine, she would certainly sent out Dacus as well as Baker “Emily I’m Sorry” after composing it alone, inquiring, “Can we be a band again?”

“We were all nervous to bring it up,” Bridgers claimed. “We all thought that we were more excited than the other person.”

The track listing for The Record is as adheres to:

  1. “Without You Without Them”
  2. “Emily I’m Sorry”
  3. “True Blue”
  4. “Cool About It”
  5. “Not Strong Enough”
  6. “Revolution 0”
  7. “Leonard Cohen”
  8. “Satanist”
  9. “We’re in Love”
  10. “Anti-Curse”
  11. “Letter to an Old Poet”

Listen to “$20,” “Emily I’m Sorry” as well as “True Blue” listed below:


Read also