Unvaulted Prince Album Welcome 2 America Set for Release

No Comments
Listen to a track from the 2010 record—the first complete studio album to emerge from Prince’s vault

Prince in 2015
Prince in 2015 (Kevin Winter/Getty Images)

A previously unreleased Prince album, Welcome 2 America, will finally see the light of day on July 30, via Legacy. Recorded in 2010, the 12-track LP “documents Prince’s concerns, hopes, and visions for a shifting society, presciently foreshadowing an era of political division, disinformation, and a renewed fight for racial justice,” according to a press release. Listen to the title track and see the tracklist below. 

A deluxe edition of the album will feature a concert film shot in 2011 at the Forum in Inglewood, California. The press release includes a Prince quote about the album from 2010: “The world is fraught with misin4mation. George Orwell’s vision of the future is here. We need 2 remain steadfast in faith in the trying times ahead.”

Read “What It Was Like to Be Prince’s Personal Photographer,” an interview with Sign o’ the Times shooter Jeff Katz. 

Welcome 2 America:

01 Welcome 2 America
02 Running Game (Son of a Slave Master)
03 Born 2 Die
04 1000 Light Years From Here
05 Hot Summer
06 Stand Up and B Strong [Soul Asylum cover]07 Check The Record
08 Same Page, Different Book
09 When She Comes
10 1010 (Rin Tin Tin)
11 Yes
12 One Day We Will All B Free 



Read also