Joy Orbison Announces Debut Mixtape Still Slipping Vol. 1

No Comments

Joy Orbison

London musician, DJ, and producer Joy Orbison has announced his first mixtape: Still Slipping Vol. 1 is out August 13 via XL. Contributors to the tape include Herron, James Massiah, Bathe, Léa Sen, Goya Gumbani, and Tyson, as well as Joy Orbison’s mother, father, sister, two uncles, auntie, and cousins. Check out the mixtape cover (featuring his cousin Leighann) and tracklist below.

Joy Orbison’s last release was his 2019 EP Slipping. Regarding Still Slipping Vol. 1, he said in a statement, “I’ve made a point of making this record feel really human, light hearted and humorous in places too so that the weirder bits of the record don’t seem too wanky or self-indulgent.” He added, “In my head this is a soul record but I’m not sure that’s how people will hear it.”

Still Slipping Vol. 1:

01 W/ Dad & Frankie
02 Sparko (W/ Herron)
03 Swag W/ Kav (W/ James Messiah & Bathe)
04 Better (W/ Léa Sen)
05 Bernard?
06 Runnersz
07 ‘Rraine (W/ Edna)
08 Glorious Amateurs
09 S Gets Jaded
10 Froth Sipping
11 Layer 6
12 In Drink
13 Playground (W/ Goya Gumbani)
14 Born Slipping (W/ Tyson)



Read also