Jay Som Announces New Album Anak Ko, Shares New Song “Superbike”: Listen

No Comments
Melina Duterte aka Jay Som, photo by <a href="https://www.lindseybyrnes.com/">Lindsey Byrnes</a>
Melina Duterte aka Jay Som, picture by Lindsey Byrnes

Melina Duterte, the artist higher often known as Jay Som, has introduced a brand new document known as Anak Ko (“my child” in Filipino). The follow-up to 2017’s Everybody Works is out August 23 (through Polyvinyl). Today, she’s shared the document’s first single “Superbike.” It arrives with a video that incorporates a behind-the-scenes look into the making of Anak Ko. Watch it under.

Melina Duterte recorded, produced, engineered, and combined Anak Ko at her Los Angeles house. It contains contributions from Vagabon, Justus Proffit, Chastity Belt’s Annie Truscott, and Boy Scout’s Taylor Vick, in addition to her Jay Som bandmates Zachary Elasser, Oliver Pinnell, and Dylan Allard. According to a press launch, the title was impressed by a textual content message from her mom, who usually tells her, “Hi anak ko, I really like you anak ko.”

On Saturday, July 20, Jay Som is acting at this 12 months’s Pitchfork Music Festival at Chicago’s Union Park. She and her band then head out on tour in September. Check out Jay Som’s schedule at the band’s website. Find tickets to Pitchfork Music Festival 2019 here, and seize tickets to the remainder of the tour here. (Pitchfork might earn a fee from purchases made by means of affiliate hyperlinks on our web site.)

Anak Ko:

01 If You Want It
02 Superbike
03 Peace Out
04 Devotion
05 Nighttime Drive
06 Tenderness
07 Anak Ko
08 Crown
09 Get Well