Gang of Four Announce New EP Recorded Before Andy Gill’s Death

No Comments
Gang of Four’s John “Gaoler” Sterry and Andy Gill, October 2016 (Scott Dudelson/Getty Images)
Gang of Four’s John “Gaoler” Sterry and Andy Gill, October 2016 (Scott Dudelson/Getty Images)

Gang of Four have introduced This Heaven Gives Me Migraines, a brand new EP that features recordings that Andy Gill made earlier than he died. The EP consists of re-recordings of three songs from the band’s catalog: “Natural’s Not in It” (1979), “The Dying Rays” (2015), and “Toreador” (2019). It additionally has two spoken interludes from Gill. Listen to the brand new model of “The Dying Rays” under (through Rolling Stone).

The This Heaven Gives Me Migraines EP is out February 26. Gang of Four singer John “Gaoler” Sterry mentioned in a press launch:

This assortment of songs was recorded simply earlier than Andy died and it was
his intention to get these out—to characterize the way in which we performed them on
tour, late final yr. All three songs have been recorded in Andy’s dwelling
studio in London and there’s a fly-on-the-wall intimacy to this EP;
from the tune choice to the snippets of spoken phrase.

Andy Gill’s spouse Catherin Mayer added:

From the hospital, Andy continued to offer ultimate notes on mixes of
music that he seemed ahead to releasing. Since his dying, I’ve
been working with the band to meet his imaginative and prescient. The solely change we
have made is to incorporate on the EP two transient recordings of Andy
talking, each, in numerous methods, essence of Andy.

Andy Gill died on February 1 on the age of 64. Read “Remembering Gang of Four’s Andy Gill, Who Ripped Punk to Shreds” on the Pitch.

This Heaven Gives Me Migraines EP:

01 Anthrax (Andy speaks)
02 The Dying Rays (2020)
03 Natural’s Not in It
04 Toreador
05 Purple in Nature (Andy speaks)